Foundation of the ECF

Prehistory

On 27.07.2014 met, at the invitation of the "Sbandieratori e Musici Cittá di Bibbiena". the Italian associations "Federatione Italiana Sbandieratori (FISB)" and the "Lega Italiana Sbandieratori (LIS)" met with the German associations "Deutscher Fahnenschwinger Verband e.V. (DFV)" and "Landesverband der Fahnenschwinger in Baden-Württemberg e.V. (LFBW)" in Bibbiena for joint talks.

The aim was to found a common European federation. The congress ended with the signing of the "Carta di Bibbiena".

Unfortunately, the Italian federations FISB and LIS withdrew from the agreement shortly afterwards. The project had failed.

On 30.07.2016, another attempt was made in Bibbiena, which also failed.

In 2017, the associations "Sbandieratori e Musici Cittá di Bibbiena" and. "Fahnenschwinger der Niederburg, Konstanz" made an attempt to create a European federation, only with clubs and without associations, with headquarters in Bibbiena. This attempt also failed due to insurmountable legal difficulties.

In 2018, the "Fahnenschwinger Konstanz" were asked to investigate a foundation in Germany. They designed a constitution, rules of procedure and the logo of the future federation.

Foundation of the ECF in Constance

On July 21, 2018, the representatives of the flag-waving groups from Belgium, Italy, the Czech Republic and Germany met to found a European flag-waving federation. As a guest also present were the representatives of the Gelderse Schutterfederatie.

The founding meeting took place in the large council hall of the city of Constance.

After a, for German conditions, long foundation meeting the 26 founding members voted unanimously for the foundation of the

European Confederation of Flags

approved the statutes, elected a board of directors and set the first goals.

The founding members are:

Sbandieratori e Musici Cittá di Bibbiena / Italy Monadria Polygamica, Brno / Czech Republic kna-Venkra Kraainem / Belgium vendelen,net, Mechelen / Belgium Jovolka, Kapellen / Belgium Flag wavers Rastatt Kraichgau flag wavers Bretten Flagwavers Constance

The following were elected as board of directors

President	Gian Piero Polverini / Italy
Vice-President	Gerhard Schlaich / Germany
1st Secretary	Stefaan Haesen / Belgium
1st Treasurer	Ines Schlaich / Germany
2nd Secretary	Pavel Kruba / Czech Republic
2nd Treasurer	Benjamin Kurtz / Germany
Associate	Ute Klockner / Italy